Cape and Islands recycling programs earn $ 200,000 in state support

BARNSTABLE – Eighteen towns on Cape Cod and the Islands received a combined total of $ 207,350 under the state’s Dividend Recycling Program (RDP), Barnstable County announced Monday.

Administered by the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP), the program recognizes municipalities that have implemented proven policies to maximize material reuse and recycling and waste reduction.

Communities that earn RDP payments must reinvest the funds in their recycling programs for things such as new recycling bins or carts, public education and awareness campaigns, collecting hard-to-recycle items and setting up recycling programs in schools, municipal buildings, and other public spaces.

Municipalities receive points for managing and diverting materials from the waste stream. The value of each point is based on the number of residents served in the municipal bin program. These funds will strengthen the Barnstable County Government’s efforts to provide technical assistance in waste reduction and recycling to towns in the region.

“It’s exciting to see towns in Cape Town and the Islands recognized for their sustainability efforts,” said Kari Parcell, Municipal Assistance Coordinator for the Barnstable County Cape Cod Co-operative Extension. . Parcell provides technical assistance to communities in managing recycling and waste disposal issues and acts as a resource to help municipalities apply for funding for the sustainable materials recovery program.

“The Recycling Dividends program helps these communities expand their reuse and recycling programs, thereby reducing waste and helping our environment,” Parcell said in a press release. “With these funds, MassDEP has responded to the individual needs and challenges of the 18 municipalities, and this will help improve and expand the programs of these solid waste facilities. “

Below are the towns in Barnstable County and the funding received:

Barn: $ 11,700

Bourne: $ 16,900

Brewer: $ 9,000

Chatham: $ 7,800

Denis: $ 13,200

Eastham: $ 7,200

Falmouth: $ 42,000

Harwich: $ 9,900

Mashpee: $ 7,200

Orleans: $ 8,400

Provincetown: $ 9,600

Sandwich: $ 15,400

Truro: $ 4,550

Well fleet: $ 11,400

Yarmouth: $ 11,700

County of Dukes:

Oak Bluffs: $ 1,000

Tisbury: $ 4,800

Nantucket County: $ 15,600